Governors State University offers a number of honor societies to showcase the excellence of our students.

  • Alpha Eta Society - Chapter 67

    +

     

    The national honor society for allied health students recognizes the scholastic and educational acheievements of its student members (membership is by invitation/nomination only). Advisor: Nancy Burley, nburley@govst.edu.

     

  • Alpha Iota Sigma

    +

    Honors for superior students of Interdisciplinary Studies.

    Advisor:  Tammara R. Winn, twinn@govst.edu

     

  • Alpha Sigma Lambda (National Adult Learners Honor Society)

    +

     

    This association is dedicated to recognizing the academically outstanding undergraduate adult learning students in continuing higher education. Advisor: Latonya Holmes, lholmes@govst.edu.

  • Chi Sigma Iota

    +

    An international honor society for students, professional counselors and counselor educators dedicated to scholarship, research, professionalism, leadership and excellence in counseling, and to recognizing achievements in the pursuit of academic and clinical excellence in counseling. Advisor: Jon Carlson, jcarlson@govst.edu.

     

  • Criminal Justice Club - Lambda Alpha Epsilon

    +

     

    Dedicated to understanding and promoting the professions related to criminal justice studies. Advisor: Caron Jacobson, cjacobson@govst.edu.

  • Delta Mu Delta - Lambda Delta Chapter

    +

     

    This international honor society for business programs is accredited by ACBSP at the baccalaureate and graduate level. Advisor: Praggyan Mohanty, pmohanty@govst.edu.

  • Lambda Pi Eta

    +


    Lambda Pi Eta is the official communication studies honor society of the National Communication Association. Advisor: Tamara Winn, twinn@govst.edu.
     

     

     

  • Mu Beta Alpha

    +

     

    Dedicated to the promotion of GSU’s MBA program by advancing the reputation, accomplishments, leadership and visibility of the program. Advisor: Phyllis Anderson, panderson@govst.edu.

     

  • Phi Alpha Honor Society

    +

     

    The society invites into membership those who have attained excellence in scholarship and achievement in social work. Members support each other, promote humanitarian goals and ideals, and foster high standards of education for social workers. Advisor: Maristela Zell, mzell@govst.edu.

     

  • Pi Theta Epsilon

    +

    The national honor society for occupational therapy supports the development of occupational sciences and the practice of authentic occupational therapy by promoting research and other scholarly activities by its members. It both serves its members and helps insure quality health care services for the general public. Advisor: Catherine Brady, cbrady@govst.edu.

     

     

  • SALUTE Veterans National Honor Society

    +

    SALUTE Veterans National Honor Society is the premier honor society for student veterans. Your membership symbolizes the commitment to recognizing and encouraging the academic success of student veterans at your institution. Advisor: James Flagg, jflagg@govst.edu

     

     

     

  • Tau Sigma Honor Society

    +

    Tau Sigma Honor Society is a national honor society designed exclusively for transfer students. Advisor: Sheree Sanderson, ssanderson@govst.edu.

     

     

  • Upsilon Pi Epsilon

    +

    The mission of UPE is to recognize academic excellence at both the undergraduate and graduate levels in the Computing and Information Disciplines. UPE is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies. Advisor: Steve Hzyny, shzyny@govst.edu