President Elaine P. Maimon welcomes new and returning students back to campus with a special message.

The 2014 academic year is off to a great start.  New students. New additions to faculty and staff. New library space. And coming soon .... the opening of the newly renovated Science, Health Sciences and Technology Wing.

President Maimon oversaw the whole celebration of Trans4mation day by welcoming everyone to Governors State University's new era.

View the President's Welcome Message.

Pres. Maimon with Freshman
President Maimon and GSU's Provost, Deborah Bordelon, celebrate with GSU's first incoming Freshman class on Trasn4mation Day.

Friday’s Convocation at Governors State not only welcomed the university’s first freshman class – along with family and friends – but also recognized the work of three outstanding GSU faculty members and one staff member, as well as three area high school teachers.

GSU Dual Degree Program students marched into the Center for Performing Arts wearing the colors of their community college.  On the day they graduate from GSU those colors will be intertwined with GSU's.

DDP at Convocation 2014
Dual Degree Program students at GSU's Trans4mation Day Convocation ceremony.

Recipients for the Dr. Gerald  C. Beysore Endowed Distinguished Service Award, the Educator's Legacy Award and the Faculty Excellence Awards were presented:

Dr. Gerald C. Baysore Endowed Distinguished Service Award
Bettie Lewis of the GSU Procurement Department

 Baysore Award Winner 2014
President Maimon congratulates Bettie Lewis, recipient of the Dr. Gerald C. Baysore Endowed Distinguished Service Award.

The Educator’s Legacy Award
With the arrival of GSU’s first freshman class, the university presented the first Educator’s Legacy Awards. The winners were nominated by entering freshmen as the high school educator who helped them focus their dreams of college and contributed to their academic achievement.

Educator's Legacy Award 2014
The Educator’s Legacy Award winners: (L to R) Deborah Taylor, Lauren Lamaster, and Lindsay Beechy-Kociolek.

Faculty Excellence Awards
Assistant Professor of Media Studies, Dr. Deborah James
Associate Professor of Physical Therapy, Dr. Dale Schuit
Associate Professor of Management, Dr. Stephen Wagner

Faculty Excellence Award
The Faculty Excellence Awards winners: (L to R) Dr. Deborah James, Dr. Stephen Wagner, and Dr. Dale Schuit.

To read more about each award winner, click here.

Then it was on to the ribbon cutting ceremony at Prairie Place. Cheered on by new residents, faculty, staff and guests – including Family Development Center students – President Maimon and GSU Board of Trustees Chair Brian D. Mitchell officially opened the university’s first residence hall.

Prairie Place Ribbon Cutting
President Maimon and GSU Board of Trustees Chair Brian D. Mitchell preside over the ribbon cutting for Prairie Place.