GSU president awarded Donna Shavlik Award

 Permanent link
 donna shavlik for view
GSU president Elaine P. Maimon (right) receives the Donna Shavlik award from Molly Corbett Broad, president of the American Council on Education.

Governors State University announced this week that its president, Elaine P. Maimon, has won the 2014 Donna Shavlik Award from the American Council on Education.

The award honors an individual whose leadership demonstrates a sustained commitment to advancing women in higher education through actions or initiatives enhancing women’s leadership and career development, campus climate, and mentoring of women at both the state and national levels.

“Elaine Maimon has worked tirelessly and effectively to expand access to higher education overall and advance the cause of women in higher education leadership in particular,” said ACE president Molly Corbett Broad. “She is an inspiring role model and frequent mentor both in how she has achieved success and in her sustained commitment to creating paths to success for so many others.”

The award was established in 1999 to honor the service of Donna Shavlik, past director ACE’s former Office of Women in Higher Education. The award is presented each year at ACE’s Women’s Leadership Dinner during its annual meeting.

Maimon was nominated for the award by Governors State University provost, Deborah Bordelon.

Posted by Michael Drakulich at 03/10/2014 03:18:10 PM